Golf at Frinton is as old as the town, but the Club has a more vibrant history and these days arguably a more progressive outlook.
The town of Frinton-on-Sea is often in the news, mostly featuring a gentle dig at the strict regulations that govern the town. Frinton was designed in the early 1900s as a seaside resort and has remained unspoiled ever since, with some of the finest beaches in the country. ‘Progress’ is carefully controlled to preserve the original Edwardian nature of the town.
The decision to open the first pub was long debated until plans were approved in 2000. Sandwiched between the sea and a railway line, there is little room for expansion, which helps retain the charming small town feel.
Frinton Golf Club was founded in 1895 and used a nine hole design by Tom Dunn, on land now occupied by houses in Second and Third Avenue. In 1904, twice Open Champion Willie Park Jnr., designed a new 18 hole course on the present site, an area formerly renowned for hare coursing. On the advice of the famous golf course architect Harry S Colt, various improvements were made to the original design that left the layout largely as we know it today.
These improvements however, were greatly set back by the coming of the Second World War. Frinton lies on a stretch of coast that was thought to be a possible site for an enemy invasion and so, with the exception of the first three holes, the course was requisitioned by the Army and sown with mines. The resultant damage was obviously considerable and it was not until 1947 that the course began to resume its former shape.
Over the years many famous golfers have played at Frinton, including in the early part of the twentieth century the great triumvirate of Vardon, Braid and Taylor. In 1929 the British Professionals practised at Frinton prior to their first Ryder Cup victory at Moortown. A member of that team, 1923 Open Champion Arthur Havers, was subsequently to return in 1956 as Club Professional, a post he held until his retirement in 1964.
Since its foundation in 1997, the Arthur Havers Bursary has continually provided financial resources and support to the Club in a variety of ways. Every year, the Bursary funds a comprehensive coaching programme and other schemes to assist junior golfers to gain experience and learn the game. Many have subsequently become members of the Club. It has also provided financial help to many members of all playing categories, who have fallen on difficult times.
Four of our ex juniors have subsequently joined the ranks of the Professional Golf Association and two of them, namely Tom and Scott, are today providing the nucleus of the very successful Coastal Golfing Academy, involving local junior schools.
Many of the full playing members of the Club are direct products of this system and are now helping to perpetuate this cycle.
The current trustees of the Bursary are: Roger Attrill, Michael Coffey, Loraine Motion, Nigel Jackson, James Hide, Alan Rusbridge and Tig Tanner.
Frinton Links operates a number of byelaws and operational polices to ensure the highest standards of golfing etiquette and protocol are maintained at all times, as well as ensuring the safety of all members and visitors. Full copies of all these documents are available below:
A historic seaside club offering exceptional golf, warm hospitality, and a true sense of community since 1895.
Frinton Links
1, The Esplanade,
Frinton on Sea,
England,
CO13 9EP